You are here: Home / People / Advisory Board

Advisory Board

The Penn State Criminal Justice Research Center (CJRC) is housed within the College of the Liberal Arts and was established in 2009. The CJRC Advisory Board was reconstituted in 2017 and features 13 members consisting of agency research representatives, alumni representatives, and external and internal academic administrators.

The board meets once a year to provide feedback for Center strategic planning, communicate CJRC initiatives and research to outside stakeholders, strengthen existing collaborations, provide access for future research, data sharing, and funding opportunities, assistance in project proposal evaluations, and widen CJRC impact.

Eric Baumer

  • PSU Representative
  • Head, Department of Sociology and Criminology
  • Professor of Sociology and Criminology

Scott Bennett

  • PSU Representative
  • College of the Liberal Arts Associate Dean for Research, Distinguished Research Professor

Pat Brinkley

  • Agency Partner
  • Director, Bureau of Research & Development at Pennsylvania State Police

Bret Bucklen

  • Agency Partner
  • Research Director, Pennsylvania Department of Corrections

Matthew Kleiman

  • Agency Partner
  • Deputy Director of the Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing

Stephanie Lanza

  • PSU Representative
  • Interim Director, Consortium to Combat Substance Abuse
  • Director, The Edna Bennett Pierce Prevention Research Center
  • Professor, Department of Biobehavioral Health

Susan McHale

  • PSU Representative
  • Social Science Research Institute Director
  • Distinguished Professor of Human Development and Family Studies and Professor of Demography

Ricardo Nunez

  • Alumni Representative
  • Administration of Justice ‘79

Glenn Sterner

  • Commonwealth Campus Representative
  • Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Abington
  • Criminal Justice Research Center Postdoctoral Scholar Alumni

Michael Wagner

  • Alumni Representative
  • Administration of Justice ‘95